Quick News Bit

NAIA Softball Opening Round Qualifiers and Pairings Announced


Softball | Tue, May 11, 2021

NAIA Opening Round Qualifiers

BOWLING GREEN, Ky. – Campbellsville (Ky.), Free-Hardeman (Tenn.), Georgetown (Ky.) and Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) qualified for the NAIA Softball Championship Opening Round, the national office announced Tuesday.

The opening round of the national tournament begins on Monday, May 17 at 10 host sites across the NAIA and the four-team, double-elimination brackets are slated to be finished on Wednesday, May 19.

Campbellsville is the No. 2 seed in the Bowling Green (Ky.) bracket and earned on the Mid-South Conference’s automatic bids. The Tigers will face No. 3 seed Olivet Nazarene (Ill.). Indiana Wesleyan is the No. 1 seed in the bracket and will take on fourth-seeded Aquinas (Mich.).

Georgetown earned the conference’s second automatic bid and are the No. 4 seed in the Lawrenceville, Georgia bracket. The Tigers will open up play against top-seeded Georgia Gwinnett. Rio Grande (Ohio) is the No. 2 seed in the bracket while Milligan in the No. 3 seed.

Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.) earned an at-large bid and is the No. 3 seed in the Fayette, Missouri bracket. The Lions open up bracket play against second-seeded College of Idaho. Central Methodist is the top-seed in the bracket while Ottawa is the No. 4 seed.

Lindsey Wilson earned an at-large bid and is set to host the Columbia (Ky.) bracket as the  No. 1 seed. The Blue Raiders will open up play against No. 4 seed Brenau (Ga.). Saint Xaiver (Ill.) is the No. 2 seed in the bracket while Madonna (Mich.) is the four seed.

The 40-team field is comprised of 32 automatic qualifiers and eight at-large berths. The 19 conferences receive one berth per six teams and two berths per ten teams.

The champions from each of the 10 opening round tournaments advance to the 40th annual NAIA Softball World Series in Columbus, Ga., from May 27 – June 2. These programs will participate in a double-elimination national championship South Commons Softball Complex.

Opening round action begins at the 10 host sites on May 17.

For all the latest Sports News Click Here 

 For the latest news and updates, follow us on Google News

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! NewsBit.us is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Leave a comment